Chia Seed, Cranberry, and Raisin Granola

2014-02-07 06.36.10

I’ve been craving granola like crazy lately.  I want it on my yogurt, in my oatmeal, in my trail mix (is that a thing), basically, wherever I can include granola, I’m going to.  So, after checking out the sugar content of my store-bought granola and coming close to having a heart attack, I decided to cut that out of my grocery-shopping list.  From now on, grocery-store granola goes into the dessert category, at least in my book.

So, I went onto the internet because in this day and age, that’s where all of the answers are.  There are tons of blogs out there (including this one!) but Oh She Glows is my go-to for vegan food that’s original and delicious.  And you know what, she has several granola recipes, and I found one that was awesome.  I didn’t have some of the thing she listed in her recipe, but you know what, that’s what’s great about granola, you can put anything you want in it.  So here’s how I made mine:

What you need:

  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raw pistachios, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup raw walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp flax seeds
  • 2 tbsp sweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 5 T agave-maple syrup blend
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp applesauce, unsweetened
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 2 T honey
  • 1/4 cup cranberries
  • 1/3 cup raisins

What you do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and prepare a baking sheet by lining with parchment paper.
  2. Combine the oats, pistachios, walnuts, chia seeds, flax seeds, coconut flakes, cinnamon and salt in a bowl and set aside. 
  3. In a  cooking pan, combine the maple-syrup blend, coconut oil, applesauce, peanut butter, and honey and bring to a boil.  Allow to simmer for a couple of minutes, or until it starts to thicken up.  Remove from heat and stir in with the oat mixture until combined.
  4. Spread the mixture out on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes, stirring every few minutes to ensure an even cooking on all sides.
  5. Once the granola has achieved a golden-brown color, remove and allow to cool.  Stir in the cranberries and raisins.  Serve with yogurt, almond milk, regular milk, oatmeal or anything else your heart desires.  Feel free to sprinkle some additional cinnamon on top.
Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

