Kombucha and Probiotics

I have to tell you.  The first time I tried kombucha, I thought it was digusting.  I also thought it was digusting the second, third, fourth and fifth time I tried it.  I tried all different kinds of brands and flavors and could never bring myself to actually like it.  Until I found one with ginger.  Ginger does a great job of masking the sort of sour, fermented flavor that comes with drinking kombucha (it is is fermented tea after all) and after discovering that, I can’t get enough of it.

This is one of my favorite kombucha drinks.  Source: Synergy Drinks

This is one of my favorite kombucha drinks. Source: Synergy Drinks

The other great news is that kombucha is really good for you.  It has all sorts of vitamins (tons of B-vitamins to be specific_ and awesome probiotics that help to keep your digestive system regular as well as boosting your immune system.  A lot of recent research has come out proclaiming that probiotics do all sorts of great things, like reduce risks of cancer, heart disease and other illnesses.  Other sorts of fermented foods, like pickles, sauerkraut, kimchi, cheese and yogurt all contain probiotics too, just different kinds, so it’s important not to rely on just one source for all of your probiotic needs.  Probiotics are the good bacteria that help to fight off bad bacteria.  It’s especially important, if you’re taking antibiotics or any other drug that may kill of some of the good bacteria in your system, that you help it to regrow by eating and drinking things that contain probiotics.  Of course, ask your health care provider before doing this, but for the most part, you should be fine.

Here are just a couple of things probiotics can do for you:

  • Improve digestion
  • Prevent and treat vaginal yeast infections and urinary tract infections
  • Treat irritable bowel syndrome
  • Reduce bladder cancer recurrence
  • Prevent or reduce the severity of colds and flu

Michael Pollan’s new book Cooked

, has a whole section dedicated to the beauty of probiotics and fermentation.  I really enjoyed reading this book and learned so much from it.  I defintiely recommend if you want to learn more about what you’re eating!

Let me know how you feel about kombucha in the comments!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

