Getting Ready for Soup Season

The inconsistent weather is really throwing me for a loop.  It’ll be brisk and chilly one day, then up in the 80s the next.  And while I love it when it’s warm out, I’m about ready to bring out the sweaters, tea and soup full time.  I decided to enter full denial today (can you decide to be in denial?) and even though its in the 70s, I made my first big stew of the season.  Soups are a great way to pack a huge nutritional punch because you can add tons of veggies and many of the grains and legumes used in soups (barley, lentils, etc.) are excellent sources of fiber.  Soups are also really easy to play wth, and usually, if you’re missing an ingredient, it’s easy enough to find a substitute for it or simply leave it out.

Here’s a few of the soups and stews I can’t wait to make this season:

Mushroom Barley Soup

I used to have this soup all of the time when I lived in Minnesota.  Barley’s made the best mushroom barley soup I can remember having, but when I tried to recreate their recipe a few years ago, it went horribly wrong.  So hopefully this one is a little easier.

Crock Pot Chickpea, Butternut Squash and Red Lentil Stew

I don’t have a crock pot, but this recipe makes it almost a requirement that I get one as soon as possible.

Kale and White Bean Soup

I love kale, and I love beans. This would be really good with some hot Italian sausage.

Irish Beef Stew

Joy of Cooking has been my go-to for a traditional beef stew recipe, but I’m definitely curious about this one that adds in some stout beer.

I want to know what good soup and stew recipes you’re excited to try this season!  Let me know if the comments if you find anything that looks REALLY good!

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

