Shirataki Roasted Vegetable Couscous

Image

I still can’t get the last dinner I had in Turkey off of my mind.  The vegetable couscous was perfection; fresh vegetables, perfectly cooked couscous and bright flavors that made it difficult to stop eating even when I knew I was full.  After giving my taste buds a bit of a break from Turkish cuisine, I decided to take a stab at doing Turkish couscous my way.  I used shirataki rice (which has zero calories) instead of couscous and a lot less butter than I’m sure the restaurant used, resulting in a healthier, lower-calorie version that was pretty close to the dish I had in Istanbul.  To top it off, and to add more protein, I poached and egg and put it on top.

What you need:

  • 2 bag of shirataki rice, rinsed well
  • 1 cup of sweet potato, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 cups of broccoli, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • mushrooms, sliced
  • cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • Spice blend of paprika, salt, black pepper, garlic, cumin, oregano, red pepper and cilanto
  • olive oil

What do do:

  1. Coat the sweet potato, broccoli, and mushrooms in olive oil and the spice blend, to taste.  Roast in the oven at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes or until the sweet potatoes are soft.  Remove from oven and stir in tomatoes.
  2. Heat the shirataki rice in a pan and cook for about 5 minutes or until a lot of the water has evaporated.  Stir in the roasted vegetables.
  3. Poach egg and put on top.
  4. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

