Discuss: Nutritional Information

This article just came out from Gallup about a recent study that was done on how much people pay attention to the nutritional content information that is posted on restaurant menus.  Apparently, only 43% of Americans pay even a fair amount of attention to this information, whereas 68% of Americans say they pay at least a fair amount of attention to nutritional content information that is posted on food packages.

Personally, I pay attention.  If I’m going out to eat, and I have advance warning, I’ll make sure to look up the calorie and nutrition content online beforehand to make an informed decision.  If I’m stepping out for lunch to grab something really quick to eat, I always always always look at the calorie and nutrition information when I’m making a decision.  I have regretted way too many times finding out that a particular tortilla is over 500 calories or that the cheese on a sandwich adds up to at least 250 calories.   Not to mention, knowing if your particular order comes smothered in mayonnaise or another cream heavy sauce, helps you to decide if you’re willing to put in that extra time at the gym to burn off that additional 200 calories or if you’d rather save that time and calories for something else and ask for that sauce to go on the side or to not go on your meal at all.

So I’d love to know, do you pay attention to the nutritional content that is posted at restaurants?  Has it helped you at all to make healthier, better decisions?  Or do you just ignore it and still eat what you want?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Discuss: Nutritional Information

  1. Judy says:

    When it’s there, I look at it. But it’s not usually available. So I usually just wing it.

Leave a Reply

