Tofu Spring Rolls with Mango and Bean Sprouts

Tofu Spring Rolls with Mango and Bean Sprouts

I mentioned that on my recent trip to an Asian grocery store that I went a little bit overboard right? So on top of the gallons of kimchi and gallons of tofu, I also came home with a ton of sprouts and rice paper rolls. I also had a lot of delicious mangoes I’d picked up from Whole Foods, so I decided to see what I could do with them together.

I’ve had a lot of really good spring rolls in my life. In Sacramento, there’s this really incredible vegan restaurant that has a huge variety of spring rolls, so I decided to play a little with variety in mine. So here’s how I did it.

I took a brick of tofu and, after pressing out the excess water, marinated it in a mixture of soy sauce and sesame oil before pan frying it until it was golden brown. Then, I took rice paper sheets, soaked them individually in cold water for about thirty seconds, then filled them up with mango, carrots, sprouts, basil and tofu. The really tricky part is getting the rice paper not to stick to itself until you want to roll it up.

The sauce was a mixture of rice vinegar, soy sauce, miso paste, garlic and orange juice. You definitely need the sauce to bring the spring roll flavors to life.

Definitely a very easy, vegetarian dish that can be prepared quickly on a week night or for appetizers!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Tofu Spring Rolls with Mango and Bean Sprouts

  1. […] Tofu Spring Rolls with Mango and Bean Sprouts (happymeater.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

